MESSAGE FROM THE FISIQ’S PRESIDENT

The FISIQ held its second general meeting on October 7, 2020. The meeting had to take place virtually due to the coronavirus, which fortunately did not mute into a computer virus!

It is always good to try to take advantage of situations that shake up the status quo. As FISIQ members have seen, the past year has required a lot of adjustments due to the pandemic. The FISIQ continued to innovate so it could remain operational.

You can find tools on the FISIQ’s website that will help you apply for funding.

The renewed Board of Directors will hold its next meeting at the beginning of November. We are continuing our work according to our discussions—bringing Quebec delegations together in countries in which Quebec cooperation organizations that are members of the FISIQ are active, explore the possibility of creating synergies with other investment funds and see to what extent we could develop partnerships with ICAs that do volunteer cooperation.

In conclusion, we would like to thank the FISIQ’s investing members and our partners, who allow us to turn this innovative experience into potential funding for our partners in southern countries.

An investment fund devoted to cooperation and international solidarity

The Quebec International Solidarity Investment Fund (FISIQ) is an initiative of the Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI). It is a socially responsible financial tool designed to help social/solidarity-based economy businesses that are partners of Quebec international cooperation organizations (ICA). It is active in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean.

Iris Mundial
COOP Pérou
CECI Burkina Faso
CINDES

A financial tool that goes hand-in-hand with international cooperation programs

The FISIQ is a co-financing and guarantee tool that aims to foster dialogue between social/solidarity-based economy businesses (cooperatives, mutual associations and organizations) and their local lenders in southern countries. Its objective is to expand available financing as part of existing technical cooperation programs.

The FISIQ is also a sustainable development lever for cooperatives, mutual associations and organizations of the South. It promotes community autonomy and the financial independence of women and young people and supports local financing structures.

The silver lining in difficult times is that we are forced to reinvent ourselves. Through renewal, international solidarity will become stronger. The FISIQ’s Board of Directors joins its members in its commitment to listening to needs in order to build constructive, solidary and lasting partnerships. Big solutions come from big challenges.

André Beaudoin, President of the FISIQ

Message du Président du FISIQ

Le FISIQ a tenu sa deuxième assemblée générale le 7 octobre 2020. Le coronavirus nous a obligés à  tenir cette rencontre virtuellement. Heureusement d’ailleurs que le virus ne s’est pas encore transposé en virus informatique.

Dans le bon sens du terme, il faut toujours tirer profit des situations qui viennent bousculer le cours des choses.  En cela, les membres du FISIQ ont pu constater que la dernière année a nécessité de nombreuses adaptations compte tenu du contexte. Le FISIQ a continué d’innover pour être désormais opérationnel.

Vous pouvez trouver les outils sur le site du FISIQ, lesquels sont nécessaires pour faire une demande de financement.

Le conseil d’administration renouvelé tiendra sa prochaine rencontre dès le début de novembre. Nous poursuivrons nos travaux dans l’esprit de ce que nous avons avancé lors de nos assises, à savoir le rapprochement des délégations québécoises dans les pays d’intervention des organisations de coopération du Québec, membres du FISIQ. Explorer  la possibilité de créer des synergies avec d’autres fonds d’investissement et enfin, voir dans quelle mesure, nous pourrions développer des collaborations avec les OCI qui font de la coopération volontaire.

En terminant, nous tenons à remercier les membres investisseurs du FISIQ et nos partenaires, lesquels permettent de traduire cette expérience innovante en perspective de financement pour nos partenaires des pays du Sud.

Un fonds d'investissement dédié à la coopération et à la solidarité internationale

Le Fonds d’investissement solidaire du Québec (FISIQ) est une initiative de l’Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI). C’est un outil financier socialement responsable destiné aux entreprises d’économie sociale et solidaire partenaires des organismes de coopération internationale (OCI) québécois. Il intervient donc en Afrique, en Asie, ainsi qu’en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes.

Iris Mundial
COOP Pérou
CECI Burkina Faso
CINDES

Un outil financier complémentaire aux programmes de coopération internationale

Le FISIQ est un outil de cofinancement et de cautionnement qui vise à favoriser le dialogue entre les entreprises d’économie sociale et solidaire (coopératives, mutuelles, associations) et leurs bailleurs de fonds locaux dans les pays du Sud. Son objectif est d’élargir l’offre de financement dans le cadre des programmes de coopération technique existants.

De plus, le FISIQ est un levier de développement durable pour les coopératives, mutuelles et associations du Sud. En effet, il favorise l’autonomie des communautés, l’indépendance économique des femmes et des jeunes et la dynamisation des structures de financement locale.

C’est en période difficile qu’on mesure la capacité de se réinventer. La solidarité internationale a besoin de renouveau pour donner un sens à la résilience. Le conseil d’administration du FISIQ  se joint à ses membres et s’engage à être à l’écoute des besoins afin de bâtir des partenariats constructifs et solidaires qui traverseront le temps. C’est dans la démesure des défis que naissent des solutions à notre mesure.

André Beaudoin, Président du FISIQ